Beyond ISO 9001

A brief look at other standards

If you're looking for more up-to-date guidance on ISO 9001:2015, ISO 14001:2015, and ISO 45001:2018, click here.

EFQM (aka Business Excellence Model)

This the European Foundation for Quality Management's model for Total Quality Management. ISO 9001:2015 covers about 25% of BEM's requirements.

This model for a total quality organization is split into two broad groups that cover nine organizational aspects. The first aspect is 'enablers', e.g. leadership, people, management, policy and strategy, resources and orocesses. The second aspects is 'results', e.g. people satisfaction, customer satisfaction, impact on society and business Results.

In order to achieve Results, management must provide appropriate resources to Enable that to happen. These nine aspects broadly align with ISO 9001:2015. For more info:

TickIT & ISO 90003

TickIT is a UK accreditation scheme for approving Certification Bodies who operate ISO 9001 registration schemes in the IT sector. The aim of TickIT is to ensure that Certification Bodies are competent and consistent in auditing IT companies. TickIT is NOT about approval of software developers or products.

ISO 90003:2004 (formerly ISO 9000-3) is a guidance document. The purpose of ISO 90003 is to help Quality System developers and auditors understand the requirements of ISO 9001 in the software world.

ISO 90003:2004 is designed to help organizations apply ISO 9001:2015 to the purchase, supply, development, operation and maintenance of computer software and related support services. It does not add to, or amend the requirements of ISO 9001:2015. 

ISO 14001

The environmental management system standard (ISO 14001:2015) sets out the requirements for demonstrating a positive view of environmental issues and is about lessening impacts through controlled processes.

ISO 45001

The occupational health and safety management standard (ISO 45001:2018) sets out the requirements of for enhancing opportunities, controlling risk and managing all occupational health and safety requirements.

ISO 17025

Laboratories use ISO 17025 to implement a quality system aimed at improving their ability to consistently produce valid results. It is also the basis for accreditation from an accreditation body.

Our range of ISO 9001:2015 quality manuals and integrated manual templates cover the requirements of ISO 14001:2015 and ISO 45001:2018, and offer an easy way to implement and document your organization's quality management system or integrated management system.

How to apply the latest quality management principles

The latest and current quality management principles (QMPs), stated in ISO 9000:2015, are intended to provide the foundation by which any organization can continually improve its performance.

You can learn to apply the latest quality management principles in the context of your business's own particular operations by reviewing and documenting its activities in the context of each quality management principle.

Want to know more?

SSL certification

A certificate guarantees the information your internet browser is receiving now originates from the expected domain - It guarantees that when you make a purchase, sensitive data is encrypted and sent to the right place, and not to a malicious third-party.

Free PDCA guidance

ISO Navigator™ is our FREE online training tool that shows you how to apply the principles of PDCA to your operations. We also offer many helpful templates that get you on the road to documenting your management system, please visit the download page.